Four more cancers added to list covered under Zadroga Act

By Ridgely Ochs New York Newsday

Four more cancers were formally, and finally, added to the list of those covered under the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act Monday.

On Feb. 18 the administrator of the World Trade Center Health Program, Dr. John Howard, director of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, issued an interim final rule that added four more cancers to the list of about 60 already covered.

These were brain, cervical, pancreatic and testicular cancers.

Coverage of the four cancers was effective immediately, even during the interim final rule. But when a 60-day comment period ends at the close of business Monday, the rule will automatically become final, according to a spokeswoman for NIOSH.

On September 12, 2012, Howard published a final rule adding cancers to other 9/11-associated diseases, such as respiratory and gastrointestinal problems. The cancers include those of the mouth, nose, larynx, esophagus, thyroid, stomach, colon and rectum, lung, heart, liver, breast, kidney and the urinary tract.

Prostate cancer was added to the list a year later.

A study of 55,778 responders and residents published in the Journal of the American Medical Association in December 2012 found an increased risk of cancer just among the responders and only for prostate cancer, thyroid cancer and myeloma compared with the general population.

But researchers said at the time that the study should be viewed as interim and that cancers can take decades to develop after exposure to toxins.

This entry was posted in Health Issues. Bookmark the permalink.
  • One World Observatory

    Learn more about the One World Observatory complimentary ticket program.

  • Categories

  • From the Newsletter

  • Upcoming Events

    1. Build-a-Rig Raffle to Honor the late NYPD Officer Scott Blackshaw

      February 5 @ 8:00 am - April 12 @ 5:00 pm
    2. Brick paver fundraiser to build a fountain at the Middletown World Trade Center Memorial Garden

      February 11 @ 8:00 am - April 30 @ 5:00 pm
    3. Applications being accepted for 2021 Richard J. Guadagno Fellow at Flight 93 National Memorial

      February 24 @ 8:00 am - March 18 @ 5:00 pm
    4. Leave a message for the family of Joseph Michael Abate, Local 3

      February 25 @ 8:00 am - March 7 @ 5:00 pm
    5. Funeral for NYPD Detective John F. Mele

      March 3 @ 10:30 am - 12:30 pm