9/11 fallen heroes to be awarded medals

By Vanessa Herring WUSA9

The Pentagon (Photo: Chip Somodevilla Getty Images)

The Pentagon (Photo: Chip Somodevilla Getty Images)

ARLINGTON, Va. — As we approach the September 11th anniversary, thousands of people who lost their lives are being honored. The men and women who died during the terrorist attacks in Pennsylvania, New York, and at the Pentagon will be awarded the Congressional Gold Medal.

One hundred eighty four people died at the Pentagon during the terrorist attack.

The Fallen Heroes of 9-11 Act was passed by Congress in 2011. The bill authorizing the medals says given the unprecedented nature of the attacks and the need to properly demonstrate the support of the country for those who lost their lives, it is fitting to recognize their sacrifice with the award of the medals.

It directs three Congressional Gold Medals to the sites where thousands lost their lives during the terrorist attacks. One medal will go to the Flight 93 National Memorial in Pennsylvania, one to the National September 11 Memorial and Museum in New York, and one to the Pentagon Memorial.

The act says the officers, emergency rescue workers, and employees of local and federal government agencies, who responded to the attack on the Pentagon took heroic, and noble action, to evacuate the premises and prevent further casualties of Pentagon employees.

This entry was posted in 9/11 Memorials. Bookmark the permalink.
  • One World Observatory

    Learn more about the One World Observatory complimentary ticket program.

  • Categories

  • From the Newsletter

  • Upcoming Events

    1. COVID-19 testing sites in the NYC area

      October 13 @ 8:00 am - December 31 @ 5:00 pm
    2. Application period open for the LeRoy W. Homer, Jr. Foundation Scholarship

      November 1, 2020 @ 8:00 am - January 31, 2021 @ 5:00 pm
    3. Buy a beer on Mondays and support the Terry Farrell Foundation – Fort Collins, CO

      November 7 @ 11:00 am - December 31 @ 8:00 pm
    4. NYPD Officer Chris Bramwell needs a kidney urgently

      November 10 @ 8:00 am - December 31 @ 5:00 pm
    5. Warren Fire Department fundraiser for their 9/11 ceremony next year

      November 17, 2020 @ 8:00 am - January 31, 2021 @ 5:00 pm